GOAL TIME!

14 Feb

What was your goal when we started the Paleo Challenge?

Did you hit it?

Did you miss it?

I want to know!

If you hit your goal, what helped you get there? Did you surpass it? How frequently did you work on it?

If you missed your goal, what happened? How frequently did you work on it?

Be specific!!

15 Responses to “GOAL TIME!”

  1. Sarah February 15, 2013 at 3:48 am #

    Yes I hit my goal!! My goal was 15 box jumps in a minute or less. I have always struggled with box jumps. Like majorly. Usually I would be lucky to get the nerve to jump 5 or 6 times in a minute. I was able to do 15 in a minute. I hit it three times!! I came to open gyms and practiced like crazy. Ofcourse with my shingaurds on!!!

  2. Britt P February 15, 2013 at 4:06 am #

    I missedy goal… I focused on TNT prep instead of gaining deadlift weight or getting a muscle up I wanted a 300 lb dl I got 275

  3. Pilar February 15, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    One of my goals was to do a kipping pull up, I practice at the gym and at home with a band, I was able to do one! Now I have to keep practicing until I’m able to do more and a row.

  4. Amanda G. February 15, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    My goal was to get 18 unbroken wall balls…I only got 15 with a 14# ball, but got 20 with a 10# ball. After 13 or so with the 14# I had a hard time getting the ball high enough with a good enough arc to come back to me nicely. Better than before, but not quite where I wanted to be.

  5. Amy February 15, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

    I hit both of my goals…246# deadlift (got 248#) and 15 unbroken pull ups (got 17). For the deadlift, I just tried and got it. Didn’t really work on it prior to getting it. For the pull ups, I worked on it frequently and finally in the competition I got it.

  6. Dena February 15, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    My goals were to learn to incorporate this into my life, not just the challenge, and to advance in my pull ups… at least moving down a band… I think I’ve got the paleo thing down now, and during the challenge I thought of things that I will let myself “cheat” on, mostly so that I don’t just break down and cheat on everything… like my coffee… I hate black coffee, I hate coffee with almond milk, I WANT a mocha!! I used to put one spoonful of hot cocoa into my coffee and it was awesome, but giving up the hot cocoa had me buying mochas at Panera or Starbucks… way worse and costs more! Little things like that that if they hold me back, I’ll just cut it out completely!
    Anywho… I also did not advance with pull ups, but I can do more unbroken with the blue/green band. I asked Josh to help me in the mornings after WOD, so hopefully that will help! I feel better and more confident about it all. I definately felt stronger and faster during my WODs!!

  7. tsulita February 15, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    Goal #1: 10# Increase on my Power Clean.
    Previous Best – 140#
    PR during challenge – 155#.
    I worked on my form at lower weights multiple times a week. I spent an open gym working up to my 1RM.

    Goal #2: 10 Double Unders Unbroken.
    Previous Best – 2.
    PR during challenge – 17.
    I worked on DU’s after workouts at least 3 times a week since I didn’t really care if I could do them when my body was fresh. I saw gradual improvement from 5 > 8 > 10. During the 17 Minute AMRAP I had a string of 12, 16 and 17. My form still needs some work, but the movement is clicking.

  8. Lisa Zwemke February 16, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    My goal was to increase to a 24 in box for box jumps. I cannot believe this happened! I was there for the max height box jump day and was able to get up to 26 inches! This is really big for me considering I hate the thought of the 20 inch box. I can now WOD with 24 inches !!!! Crazy! πŸ™‚
    Although OHS, front squats & back squats were not part of my goal, I was able to PR them all within the last week or so……my power cleans need some work though. πŸ™‚

  9. Justine February 17, 2013 at 3:43 am #

    I hit all my goals! πŸ™‚ My pullups I finally accomplished during the WOD on 01/30, the wallballs I practiced after one of the workouts and I hit it and the double unders I accomplished another day post WOD (I got 30 unbroken doubles!). The double unders I practiced every chance I could and I got some serious help from Tony A. The wall balls I was able to accomplish by practicing throwing the 20#. My goal was originally for only the 14#. I need to work on all of these more though because after allowing myself to slip on my diet, I fell behind on all of these.

  10. Joel Merrill February 17, 2013 at 6:24 pm #

    I reached one of my 3 goals during the Paleo Challenge.

    Goal one was “5 unbroken Thrusters @ 175lbs. —> I could only do 155lbs, which was a PR, but not good enough to meet my goal.

    Goal two was “1 Kipping PullUp” —> I reached this goal on Friday 02/02/13! (Since then I have been able to do 2 in a row for a new PR)

    Goal three was “5 unbroken Double Unders” —> I was only able to get 2 in a row during the challenge which again was a PR, but not good enough to reach my goal.

  11. Ayten Therriault February 17, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    I am now able to do 5 consecutive double unders! Yay! Can actually make it to about 8 before having to stop and rest. Thanks to everyone in the gym for all the helpful tips πŸ™‚
    I did not reach my goal for the 40 push ups. I had to have a breather after 22 then I was able to finish. I only worked on them about 1x a week. My original plan was to do 20 push ups every night before going to bed and build up to 30-40 by the end of the challenge but that didnt happen 😦
    Hoping for another challenge soon so I can stay on track! I do feel grateful because I am stronger now than I was a month ago and it all because of the great WODs

  12. Amanda Rauter February 18, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

    Didn’t make my goal 😦 but I didn’t really practice for a max back squat either ;(
    Before the challenge I wasn’t really sure what to choose as a goal so I just took a shot in the dark and picked something. Next time around I will have a better idea of what a goal should look like. I was able to hit a PR with my hang clean which I was excited about. Never got over 100 lbs before and I was able to do 123 lbs twice!

  13. amanda o February 18, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

    I didnt make my goal. Maybe set the goal a little out of reach. It was to get 3 ttb, I’m very close to 1 now.

  14. Bryan February 19, 2013 at 2:03 am #

    I hit one of my two goals during the Challenge. I was not that focused on the two goals specifically as I am learning so many different things during my first six weeks.

  15. Adam Therriault February 19, 2013 at 4:23 am #

    I haven’t competed yet in my competition. It is in March so let you know then.

Leave a Reply

