Testimonial

3 Jun

Testimonials

Let’s get deep here. This testimonial can go in whatever direction you choose. By that I mean, you can write about whatever you want since starting your journey with Reckless. It can be more about your time with the gym, results you’ve seen, your journey with CrossFit, with paleo, etc. I mean, you don’t have to write solely about the Paleo Challenge.

Think quick, but gimme the good.

These are due by 10pm tonight.

41 Responses to “Testimonial”

  1. Cristina Hill June 3, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    I have seen amazing results by doing this challenge and working out at Reckless. The whole experience has been amazing! The coaches and the community have been wonderful. I have lost more weight and inches in a month than I have tried in three months. Thank you for this challenge and hopefully I can stick to the paleo lifestyle.

  2. jaynshay02 June 3, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    I started Reckless March 14th of this year! I took pictures of myself on March 13th, then had to take pictures again May 1st for the challenge! I saw an awesome difference just in doing Crossfit alone w/out Paleo in just those 40 something days, and that was just going to the gym 2-3 days a wk! Then doing FULL Paleo for the month of May I saw more awesome results that made me happy and realize what I am doing IS working! I am usually just a runner, but have come to love EVERYTHING about Crossfit! All I see is more positive results for myself in the future w/doing Crossfit and Eating Clean as well! The motivation I get from the Coaches as well as others from the gym helps me push myself that much more to succeed and keep going! I love how everyone pushes each other to finish their WOD’s even when they feel like they “can’t” finish and if anyone ever needs help with something someone is ALWAYS willing to help you!! Reckless ROCKS 😊

  3. abertellotti June 3, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

    I cannot say enough about all of the amazing body, life, and mind changes I have seen since I started at Reckless! I started 6 months after I had a baby and was the most out of shape that I had ever been (and weighed more than I ever had!) I never thought I would have come as far as I have! I started just for weight loss, but could never have imagined the strength I would have gained!!! When I started I could barely OHS the empty bar and now during this Paleo challenge I hit 110 x3. When I started I couldn’t do a pull up, but that changed during our first Paleo challenge. Not even a year ago I could barely dead lift 175# and in February I hit 280#. When I started crossfit in March of last year I had no idea it was a competitive sport and that in less than 10 months I would complete my first competition and NOT place last (my only goal!). I would never be where I am without the amazing coaches (Josh, Britt, and Kev) at Reckless! I love being part of a family that cares about helping people better themselves. I can’t thank my Reckless family enough for changing my life!!!

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

      You are shaping up to be an amazing athlete Amy! Your transformation has been astounding to watch. You are proof that hard work pays off. Keep it up girl. Next up, MUSCLE UPS.

  4. tsulita June 3, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    The more times that we (Hope and I are one in the same entity at the gym… right?), er I, participate in the challenges the more I learn about how diet and sleep changes everything. This challenge came at a time of massive stress in our lives. I started a second job, Hope was finishing up the school year and it seemed like there was never a moment to sit back and try to relax. The mountain of dishes in the sink at times was proof. It would have been easy to take some shortcuts here and there (usually in the form of lack of sleep), but I was determined to make it work. The additional job has made it a true challenge to get to the box, so when I was there it was going to be all out. When it was easy to get in 4-5 days a week, I think there were times that subconsciously I would save something in the fuel tank for the next WOD. Not any more… If I wasn’t ready to collapse after the WOD I didn’t do enough. This also forced me to look at the environment around me to put functional fitness to use when it allowed during my lunch breaks (walking lunges with a 30-35# pail of litter in each arm, thrusters with a commercial garage door & pallet pushes with 3000# pallets & a jack).

    My diet hasn’t changed all that much over the last 4 months with the exception of trying to eat more, and more, and more… I got to the point where I was sick of eating, but the results are there. I put on a total of 5 ¼ inches while losing 2 inches in my waist for a net gain of 3 ¼ inches. The scale showed an 11# gain (in 30 days?!?!), but since I don’t trust the scale I will look to my clothes to tell me the true story. Approximately 5-10 months ago I started replacing all of my shirts with medium shirts. I had lost a lot of skinny fat after being paleo for a year and most of the clothes didn’t fit right – I was swimming in them. Now those medium shirts don’t fit and I’m replacing the medium shirts with large shirts. While I don’t quite fill them out entirely, they fit much better than the mediums. That 135# Bear Complex 30 days ago was now a 150# Bear Complex. Proven Results.

    For some the 30 Day challenge is a starting point, for others it’s a reset switch to start over. For me it’s just a continuation of what we do day in and day out (or try to at least). The challenges show me that things will not change overnight, in 30 days or in a year. It’s a constant process over a lifetime and every time you don’t fuel your body with the food it needs and the sleep it requires you are just setting yourself back from your goals and overall health.

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

      Amazing Tony. So happy to hear about the Large shirts! Congrats! Keep working hard dude. You do it better than anyone I know!

  5. denakraber June 3, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    I know from the past that Paleo makes a HUGE difference in all aspects! I had stomach problems go undiagnosed for about 6 years and it really made me feel old and frustrated! It was easy to give into feeling tired and weak, and I got into a slump that I didn’t even work out for months!! Thank the good Lord for Reckless!! I’m so glad they introduced me to Paleo! It makes so much sense, but it has cleared up all stomach issues!! I feel better in so many ways! I’m not tired, I have energy, I feel so much younger, I’m in the best shape of my life, and I have taught many others about it and get to watch them get excited about the many positive changes they’ve experienced! I love the whole CrossFit lifestyle and will never give it up!

  6. cassandrawest June 3, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I did the Challenge Mostly just to see what all the Fuss was about and prove to myself that I had the will power to get through it. This was a Bitter Sweet Adventure for me. I was Amazed how fast it started working. In about a week I noticed a difference in the way my body looked and felt and in the way my clothing fit. I not only dropped weight and inches but I felt great! But that is where the Good Stops. My WODs and I suffered greatly in the gym. I’m talking to the point that I could hardly bring myself to go to the gym more then a couple times a week if even that much. I was not as Fast as I had been, and my strength suffered greatly. I would fatigue very quickly and would feel very sick during my WODs. I swore to myself that when the challenge was done, I’d Never do Paleo again! I didn’t think the weight / inches lost was worth it and to be honest I don’t think my After Bench Mark WOD would of been as good as it was if I was still strict Paleo. But with all that said, I don’t feel so well after eating Non Paleo stuff. So I guess I am at a Cross Roads and need to figure out where to go from here. I can’t continue to suffer so much during my WODs, but I can’t eat food that is now making me sick. For now I am just taking it one meal at a time. So I guess you can Say that I both Love and Hate Paleo. One thing i know for sure is that no matter what, I will always have my Reckless Family to help me through!

    • abertellotti June 3, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

      Are you sure some of the problems with your wods isn’t the heat? I noticed that once it started getting really hot and humid my breathing is really bad. I have had asthma bad my whole life and the heat and humidity makes it act up. Although, I can say my asthma has been amazingly better since starting crossfit!!

    • kelly61880 June 3, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

      One thing that I noticed was that when I wasn’t eating enough I would get super weak. And when I say enough, I mean like way more than I have EVER eaten in my life. In a day where I felt strong and rocked my WOD I would eat a whole chicken breast of steak at every meal along with over half a plate of veggies and a salad with olive oil or almonds or something for fat. Oddly, the fat seemed to make a BIG difference.

    • HopeMarie June 4, 2013 at 1:55 am #

      I was thinking that you have not been eating enough also. Or not getting enough of something such as healthy fats. Food is fuel. If the tank is empty and the engine isn’t working right than the fuel is off.

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      There is a fine balance with Paleo that has to be mastered. You definitely weren’t eating nearly enough food during the Challenge, and not nearly enough fat. The symptoms you described are from lack of food. You should feel energized and fast. Try a relaxed paleo and allow yourself some rice and potatoes, that may help!

  7. kelly61880 June 3, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    WOW! The Paleo challenge has certainly put a new meaning on getting healthy for me. I began crossfit just two months ago. I was excited about it and definitely saw great results in the first month. Then the challenge began. My body began to change in the first week and I could tell I was getting stronger. I also noticed that my stomach wasn’t upset as much, and I just felt better overall. I couldn’t believe how much energy I had. As the challenge continued I couldn’t believe how much strength I gained. I PR’d my deadlift by 70# – that’s crazy! During the course of a month, I lost 15 pounds and 13 inches. I have gained not only strength, but confidence in my self and my ability to succeed in the fitness arena, where I have not always been so confident. I don’t think my journey is quite done yet, so I plan to continue on and see how far I can go!! What an amazing ride so far!!

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

      The ride has just started! You’re kicking ass and taking names Kelly. Watching your progress has been awesome. Keep it up girl!

  8. Justine June 3, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

    Even though thirty days didn’t seem long enough for me, I still felt the amazing effects of eating clean. Especially after this weekend, it is amazing how much my body reacts to eating junk, terrible! I know that when I do eat clean that I don’t have that sluggish feeling during the WODs and I take fewer breaks too. The before and after benchmark WOD clearly shows this. Still need to work on my strength so eventually I can do HSPU and hit more WODs Rx. Going to try and make a commitment to keep eating clean this summer with only a handful of cheat days here and there and see how my body changes after an entire summer! 🙂 Love the fact that you guys convinced me to try Paleo.

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

      I LOOOOOOOOOVE that you are going to continue with Paleo. It’s crazy how much “bad” foods effect performance. Amazing job Justine!

  9. johnscarpino01 June 4, 2013 at 1:06 am #

    Testimonial
    I have been at Reckless now for just over 2 months. I can say that I truly love coming and enjoy the time spent at the box each and every day. I have always been a somewhat private person and pretty much keep to myself. I don’t know many people as well as others, but the people I do know, have made my time very enjoyable and fun. I feel that my mind and my body are both developing and I have begun to see some real progress. I thoroughly enjoy my one-on-one time with Josh and look forward to continuing with those workouts this summer. My paleo challenge went pretty well, save a few cheats here and there. I can say that the times I did cheat, my body did feel the effects as I was sluggish, tired and basically felt like I had a rock in my stomach. The most important thing about performing the paleo challenge was the effect it had on my allergies. I have suffered with allergies my whole life taking numerous meds. I have not had any meds for the last 3 weeks and have used my inhaler only once. Amazing results when you eat clean and the internal inflammation dramatically decreases.

    I have been very happy here at Reckless and look forward to the rest of year as I progress in my crossfit endeavors.

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

      This is an awesome testimonial John! Hope you keep up the clean eating for sake of the allergies! Crazy how food can flare up those types of things. Great job!

  10. jeffreycole786 June 4, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    There have been a lot of changes for me over the past year. Moving and changing jobs has been hectic, but Reckless has been a great release after some seriously stressful days. The spirit and work ethic of RCF has really stoked my competitive fire and makes me very excited for the future PR’s and goals I plan to knock out. The Paleo Challenge was just at the right time to remind again of what it feels like to be healthy and balanced in life….there ain’t no other way to live! When I sit back and think about Reckless all that comes to mind is, “What a bad ass box!” Thank you RCF for bringing me in and getting me started back on the fitness path I want to be on.

  11. Kristie June 4, 2013 at 2:19 am #

    After many times of thinking about doing Paleo, we gave in. From the beginning, I admitted to doing this just for Rey. Rey had lost weight doing crossfit, but was stuck at a certain weight & size because of his bad eating habits. The only way he was going to do Paleo was if I did. So, I sucked it up and did it. It really wasn’t too much of a change from my normal eating habits, except for the no dairy and no chocolate. Rey had wonderful results- lost 12 pounds, and a size, but he was tired often and did not go to the gym hardly at all during the month ( I think he did not eat enough). I was so hungry the first two weeks, and I felt like I was eating non-stop! I did not lose weight or inches, but that wasn’t why I did it. As for getting stronger, I don’t think physically I became stronger, but mentally I did (not sure I would have ever done Murph by myself, but I feel like this challenge gave me more of an I can do it mentality). As soon as the challenge was over, I did eat a few desserts- and I can tell you, I felt awful after! I think it was too much sugar. Also, I noticed that I do not like rice krispie treats or twizzlers (I can taste weird chemicals or something)!! So, I guess Paleo worked in that my taste buds have a heightened awareness to chemicals and preservatives. So, would we do a challenge again- no, not as a team, it was too hard to get Rey to log things and after a while I was tired of doing it. Will we stay on Paleo? More than likely at least 80% of the time. Want to know the BEST part of this challenge? Rey hasn’t had a Coke in 34 days!! That’s CRAZY AMAZING right there! Paleo may have just helped Rey kick his awful pop habit, and that is enough for me to say Paleo works, even if I did not lose weight or inches!!!

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

      YES! Kick that Coke habit! So happy for you and Rey. And it’s not always about the inches, it’s about health. Isn’t it crazy how your taste changes? Mentally too. Sometimes those desserts that I love don’t seem as good once I take a bite because I think of the chemical shit storm that they are made out of! You guys are awesome. Glad you did the Challenge!

  12. HopeMarie June 4, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    The hardest part of this challenge was it being the most stressful part of the school year. Sometimes I felt this was the worst time to do a challenge but on the other hand it was probably the best because at this most stressful time I probably would have been eating crap. The challenge kept me honest, eating good for me foods and getting the sleep I needed just to help my team. I wasn’t able to WOD as often as I liked due to my schedule but I did start swimming. The best part of the swimming was how easy cardio-wise it was to get back into it. I had tried swimming about three years ago and I thought I was going to drown since I couldn’t even make it across the pool for one lap with out gasping for breath. Three weeks ago I got in the pool as if I had never left. RCF and clean eating have made that possible. I am very thankful for this.

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

      I love that you are swimming! Totally agree that stress eating probably would have happened to most of you teachers if not for the Challenge. You are truly inspiring Hope, keep up the good work!

  13. Tony b June 4, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    Ummm I like crossfit!!

    I started Crossfit about a year ago, and have been at Reckless for about 6 months. I saw huge improvements at the beginning and lost 22# with my first Paleo challenge and it felt great. I have done a few since then they actually keep getting harder for me to stay clean during them and have seen less weight loss with them. I think part of it is that I don’t have as much to lose as I did with the first one and I feel I gain more muscle so the fat loss mixed with muscle gain. What I have noticed is that I gain strength each challenge and I keep working hard after and I don’t lose it. This challenge I lost the least weight so far but I hit a 3″ pr on my standing and seated box jump. With the wod I did it at 6 min flat the first time and tonight I did it in 5:33. And I hit a 10# pr on my bear complex which was also a 10# pr on my clean @225. I plan on trying to stick with Paleo at about 80/20 and stick with crossfit at 110%

    Also I have probably doubled my strength in the last 6 months since coming to Reckless!

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 2:45 pm #

      strong as fuck! 🙂
      the challenges definitely get harder as you get more lean. I have the same results as we go into Challenges…not so much weight loss or inches, but strength gains and better times for sure. You’re an athlete now bro! Keep kicking ass!

  14. mario serra June 4, 2013 at 2:37 am #

    I have been at Reckless for two months. I love how each day the workouts are different. I started out at 3 days a week and quickly found out how much I missed it the other days of the week. I always do at least 4 workouts a week if my knees allow me to. Having a set time to workout with others is a huge help to me. Everyone works hard during his or her workouts but when they are done they will help encourage anyone else who has not finished. RCF has a family type atmosphere that you don’t find at other places.

    I had done the Atkins diet in the past but I found the Paleo Challenge easier to do. My daughter has been trying to get me to stop drinking Diet Coke (usually 64 ounces a day). After not having it a month I don’t miss it.

    Since my wife died last September I hadn’t done any exercising. I had no desire mentally or physically to do anything. I was talked into joining RCF and now I can’t imagine not working out. It has helped me so much in my life.

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 2:43 pm #

      Mario, this is so awesome to hear. We’ll always be here for you. Our Reckless family is top notch. So happy to hear you are loving it & that the diet coke habit has been kicked!

  15. sherryjill June 4, 2013 at 2:45 am #

    I’ve been going to Reckless for 4 months now, and have seen such a change in myself not only physically, but mentally as well, including a huge transition in my attitude towards my health. The more I see my body change, the better I want to treat it outside of the gym. For the first time in my life, I’m getting more than 4 hours of sleep per night!

    The first week of the paleo challenge was super tough. However, once I got through the sugar withdrawals, I began to notice that I still had energy left on days I worked out. Before, a WOD left me drained the entire day.

    The paleo challenge has also allowed me to change my relationship with food. I’ve always been an emotional eater. This has been teaching me that food is fuel for my body, yet at the same time food–new foods!–can still taste good and be enjoyable.

    The workouts are not anything I would have done on my own, but I’ve also never seen results like this. I now look forward to going to the gym and seeing what’s in store for the day…having never been an athletic person, this is truly an amazing change! Since February, I’ve lost 2 sizes, 15#, and 7.5″.

    • recklesscrossfitpaleochallenge June 4, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

      Sherry you are truly a testimony of what hard work and dedication can do for someone. It has been great to watch the pounds shed off of you and you look FRICKEN AMAZING! Keep up the good work girl!

  16. Pilar June 4, 2013 at 3:51 am #

    I love CrossFit and joining Reckless was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Brittany, Josh and Kevin are amazing coaches and all of the members are like family!
    This was the third challenge since I join Reckless and once again proves that is the right lifestyle for me and my family. 😀 Again thank you Brittany for doing this for us!!

  17. Jack Shannon June 4, 2013 at 5:50 am #

    WHERE TO START?!?!?
    I wanted to do this challenge, mainly as a test of my self control. I had a TON of trouble quitting smoking and thanks to all of you at reckless, indirectly, I succeeded in doing that. I was getting tired of not being able to keep up with any of you and it was really frustrating since I was a fit monster in the Marines, smoking before and after a 7 mile run like it was nothing. That was not the case when I started in March with you guys lol. So I figured, can I get away from all the foods that I love? I DID, and I feel great. There are not a lot of people that I look up to in life, just been that way for as long as I can remember. I always set the bar for myself, not based on what others can do or have done. I found that to be very different with Reckless. I keep setting my sights on different levels of endurance and strength and it is all in part to watching each of you. My biggest inspirations have been my wife (obviously) who got me into this in the first place and continues to impress me, and the page duo. I see you two push and support each other through injuries and exhaustion, I see Josh pushing other athletes IMMEDIATELY after finishing a workout not waiting to catch his breath or give high fives. In the moment, classy sportsman, and like Lew, I am going to push myself to the breaking point to try and get on or help a team from Reckless next year. Haven’t been excited or driven to do something like this in a long time. I feel great, I SEE huge changes, this has been an absolute pleasure meeting each of you and I wanna rock some shit starting yesterday.

  18. bigkunzy June 4, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    I got my first taste of Reckless in January and due to coaching obligations I missed out on most of February. Since March, however, that first taste has turned into the fuel that lights the fire. Since joining Reckless I have seen great gains in strength, endurance, and how I feel about myself. I also have more energy on a daily basis to fight through the curves that the world may throw at me. Starting the Paleo Challenge on May 1st, I had gotten to the highest weight I’d ever been in my life, 362 lbs. This was a combination of putting on good muscle from my workouts, but not eating healthy whatsoever. Here I am a month later and 32 pounds lighter and moving in the right direction. It’s amazing what someone can do when they have coaches like Josh, Brit, and Kevin pushing them in the gym, and a Reckless family supporting them when they leave the gym. I feel supported and that is taking my life to the next level. My wife is going into her 2nd month at Reckless and we are enjoying being a Reckless couple. When I was named head football coach at Plano High School, getting my athletes to Reckless became one of my first priorities and they will be training with Reckless all summer. The sky is the limit with Reckless Crossfit… Time to go split jerk some clouds and front squat some stars! The best decision I ever made in my life is to accept Jesus Christ as my savior, the next two best decisions I’ve made are marrying my wife, and playing college football for the University of Miami. Joining Reckless is currently sitting at #4, but you gotta admit, the other 3 are pretty legit and tough to beat. I cannot wait to see where Reckless takes me, my football players, and the Reckless fam in the future. I’m glad to be along for Bearded Dragon ride.

  19. tonyrcf June 4, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Didn’t see this till it was too late my mistake, been working too many days and nights, sry guys!

Leave a Reply

